JC’s Ipod Shuffle List #1


Image result for Hump Day

What’s up, folks?  It’s hump day and we’re in the middle of the work week (just two more days to go!).  I figured today I do something fun rather than shooting the shit about the entertainment PR world.

Image result for iPod Touch

Since reading this blog, you’re probably asking, “damn Jon, these topics are incredible!  Any specific music that you enjoy or that feeds into your creative genius?”.  Why yes, random awesome reader!  I certainly do have some funky tunes that I enjoy here and there.  These amazing music tunes were picked for my long-lasting Ipod touch that I got years ago (many falls later, it’s STILL working!).

So enough with the dibble-dabble and let’s hit it!  My iPod shuffle that will showcase some of my favorite songs I enjoy (ESPECIALLY after consuming cannabis!)
String Cheese Incident – Texas (Carnival ’99)

Image result for string cheese incident carnival 99

The String Cheese Incident may be one of my favorite jam bands of all time.  Hailing from Colorado, this crazy group blends rock, bluegrass, jazz, calypso, funk, and other genres.  I enjoy their live albums better some of their studio albums and Carnival ’99 doesn’t disappoint.  Live albums of SCI are so action-packed, making me feel as if I’m in the show at this moment.  This also may be my favorite version of Texas from their albums (the studio version is just down-right RIDICULOUSLY awesome!).  While I’ve seen members of Phish, I’ve yet to check out a String Cheese Incident show.  Hopefully String Cheese Incident will head to Boston one of these days!

Umphrey’s McGee – Andy’s Last Beer (Local Bar Does O.K.)

Image result for umphrey's mcgee local band does ok

Ah, Umphrey’s McGee!  I caught three of their shows while attending college in Burlington, Vermont (or also known as B-Town!).  Umphrey’s McGee is another amazing jam band that started around Indiana/Illinois.  This funky band played some jamtastic tunes when I saw them at Higher Ground.  The waft of cannabis and warm beer filled the venue as I jammed my ass off throughout the night.  While I didn’t know all of their songs, hearing them live at the venue was still incredible.

Umphrey’s McGee – Walletsworth (Anchor Drops)

Image result for umphrey's mcgee Anchor Drops

Another tune from the Umph!  Anchor Drops is the third album that dropped in 2004.  14 progressive tracks are set, mixing progressive rock with tastes of heavy metal, jam band grooves, folk, and even electronica (BTW did I mention that jam bands take tastes from various genres? Yeah, I thought so!).  Walletsworth is one of these jamming tracks that has that heavy metal feel to it.  Truth be told, I used to be into heavy metal music back in middle/high school.

The Derek Trucks Band – I Wish I Knew (How It Would Feel To Be Free?) (Songlines)

Image result for The Derek Trucks Band Songlines

Sweet mother of guitar gods…DEREK TRUCKS.  I got into Allman Brothers later into my high school days, but it was The Derek Trucks Band that really grabbed a hold of me.  Derek’s nasty guitar licks blends in blues, soul, and jazz into some amazing rock albums.  As a nephew of Butch Trucks, Derek Trucks is a guitarist who has his own project.  Songlines is one of his great albums to check out.

Gorillaz – Clint Eastwood (Gorillaz)

Image result for gorillaz gorillaz album

The Gorillaz were an AMAZING band to discover!  It’s so cool to see an animated group spit some awesome trip-hop lines.  Not only is their music catchy, but their animated music videos are out of this world (Feel Good Inc. played for MONTHS on MTV!).  Clint Eastwood is definitely catchy and their spooky music video makes the experience that more beautiful.  What’s great is that Gorillaz are STILL making music to this day!  They’re playing shows all across the country and will be hitting Boston this summer.  Here’s to the Gorillaz for being the true OG animated group!

And there you have it, a snippet of what’s locked within my Ipod Touch.  It’s definitely been a blast conducting this idea and I look forward to this tactic again soon.  Until then, happy hump day!

Leave a Reply

