Favorite Audio Logs From The Witness, Part 1


Image result for the witness environmental puzzles

A big reason for why I loved playing The Witness so much was because of the various puzzles to be found.  Puzzle boards were scattered around the island, waiting to be solved as soon as you enter the new area.  Other than the over 500+ puzzle boards to solve, there were various environmental puzzles as well as triangle puzzles to find as well.  The main idea of The Witness really revolves around the game objective of solving puzzles.

Image result for the witness Audio Logs

Image result for the witness Audio Logs

Other than the puzzle boards scattered across the deserted island, The Witness also had some audio logs to find.  These audio logs were kept in hidden area, forcing you to look within your surroundings.  Each audio log featured a voice-over stating a quote once you clicked on the audio tape.  Most of these quotes revolved around ideas within science or philosophy, questioning the very fundamentals of our society.  A few audio tapes featured a discussion from various speakers about an idea or quote that was previously featured from another audio log.

Image result for the witness Audio Logs

Audio logs were one of my favorite features of The Witness and I wanted to showcase some of my favorite quotes I heard within the game.  From the entry level to the caverns, here are a few of my favorite audio logs I found within the deserted island.  This will be one part of the posts featuring some interesting audio logs from The Witness.

Audio Log #1: The Clock

Image result for Nicholas of Cusa

The concept of a clock enfolds all succession in time.  In the concept the sixth hour is not earlier than the seventh or eighth, although the clock never strikes the hour, save when the concept biddeth. ~Nicholas of Cusa, 1450

Audio Log #2: Mystery

Image result for albert einstein

The most beautiful experience we can have is the mysterious.  It is the fundamental emotion that stands at the cradle of true art and true science.  Whoever does not know it and can no longer wonder, no longer marvel, is as good as dead, and his eyes are dimmed.  It was the experience of mystery — even if mixed with fear — that engendered religion.  A knowledge of the existence of something we cannot penetrate, our perceptions of the profoundest reason and the most radiant beauty, which only in their most primitive forms are accessible to our minds — it is this knowledge and this emotion that constitute true religiosity; in this sense, and in this alone, I am a deeply religious man.  I cannot conceive of a God who rewards and punishes his creatures, or has a will of the kind that we experience in ourselves.  Neither can I nor would I want to conceive of an individual that survives his physical death; let feeble souls, from fear or absurd egoism, cherish such thoughts.  I am satisfied with the mystery of the eternity of life and with the awareness and a glimpse of the marvelous structure of the existing world, together with the devoted striving to comprehend a portion, be it ever so tiny, of the reason that manifests itself in nature. ~Albert Einstein, 1931

Audio Log #3: Sea

Image result for niffari mawaqif

God bade me behold the sea, and I saw the ships sinking and the planks floating; then the planks too were submerged.  And God said to me, “Those who voyage are not saved.”  And He said to me, “Those who, instead of voyaging, cast themselves into the sea, take a risk.”  And He said to me, “Those who voyage and take no risk shall perish.”  And He said to me, “In taking the risk there is a part of salvation.” And the wave came and lifted those beneath it and overran the shore.  And He said to me, “The surface of the sea is a gleam that cannot be reached.  “And the bottom is a darkness impenetrable. And between the two are great fishes, which are to be feared.” ~Niffari, circa 970

Audio Log #4: Entering A Room

Image result for arthur eddington

I am standing on the threshold about to enter a room.  It is a complicated business.  In the first place, I must shove against an atmosphere pressing with a force of fourteen pounds on every square inch of my body.  I must make sure of landing on a plank travelling at twenty miles a second round the sun — a fraction of a second too early or too late, the plank would be miles away.  I must do this whilst hanging from a round planet head outward into space, and with a wind of aether blowing at no one knows how many miles a second through every interstice of my body.  The plank has no solidity of substance.  To step on it is like stepping on a swarm of flies.  Shall I not slip through?  No, if I make the venture one of the flies hits me and gives a boost up again; I fall again and am knocked upwards by another fly; and so on.  I may hope that the net result will be that I remain about steady, but if, unfortunately, I should slip through the floor or be boosted too violently up to the ceiling, the occurrence would be, not a violation of the laws of Nature, but a rare coincidence. These are some of the minor difficulties.  I ought really to look at the problem four-dimensionally as concerning the intersection of my world-line with that of the plank.  Then again, it is necessary to determine in which direction the entropy of the world is increasing in order to make sure that my passage over the threshold is an entrance, not an exit.  Verily, it is easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle than for a scientific man to pass through a door.  And whether the door be barn door or church door it might be wiser that he should consent to be an ordinary man and walk in rather than wait till all the difficulties involved in a really scientific ingress are resolved.  ~Arthur Eddington, 1927

 

2 thoughts on “Favorite Audio Logs From The Witness, Part 1

Leave a Reply

