A Legen-Wait For It- DARY TV Criss-Cross on HIMYM!


My newest series I recently got into on Netflix was How I Met Your Mother.  I admit I wasn’t too crazy about the show when I saw a few episodes from the later season (I really didn’t understand the inside jokes, so it wasn’t enjoyable to me).  After binge-watching the 1st season last week, I finally understood the jokes within the series.  They have already been legen – wait for it – dary!

Other than the hilarious inside jokes, there were some notable cameos that appeared in some episodes.  One episode forced me to take a second look at one of the cameos.  On the episode Nothing Good Happens After 2 A.M., we meet Robin’s co-worker Sandy Rivers at Metro News 1.  Sandy Rivers tries to convince Robin to try to sleep with him more than once, but she turns him down by reminding that she doesn’t date any co-workers.  My findings led me to discover that Sandy Rivers was played by Alexis Denisof.

Now what makes this finding so interesting is that before How I Met Your Mother aired, Alyson Hannigan and Alexis Denisof both starred in the hit series Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  After Buffy the Vampire Slayer ended, Alexis Denisof went on to star in the spin-off series Angel and Alyson Hannigan made a small cameo near the end of one episode.  Hannigan and Denisof were BOTH on television two times before working on How I Met Your Mother.  TV Criss-Cross!

Oh no wait, it gets EVEN BETTER!  I looked more into the Wikipedia page to see that Alyson and Alexis got married on October 11th, 2003 (around the time season 5 of Angel aired).  So first they both appeared together on Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Alyson made an appearance on the Angel episode ‘Orpheus’, then they got married 7 months later.  It was like a TV Criss-Cross match made in heaven!

Then things just got even more ridiculous.  On the episode ‘Swarley’ of How I Met Your Mother, Lily enters into a coffee shop where she meets Scott.  Who happens to play Scott?  TOM LENK… WHO ALSO appeared in Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel as Andrew Wells (read more on this TV criss-cross here).  You guys…I literally CAN’T EVEN anymore!  These cameos from Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel are just TOO much for me to handle!

This TV criss-cross has truly been legen – dare I say it – dary!  Two guest cameos that appeared in the EXACT same series years ago.  It seems as though the circle of TV criss-cross life continues for Alyson, Alexis, and Tom.  Who knows what surprising appearances will come up later on the silver screen.

It was so funny to see two former members of Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel make their appearance on How I Met Your Mother!  I ended up enjoying the show more now that I am starting from the beginning.  Most of the in-episode jokes are hilarious and I crack up at how silly the show gets.  This was definitely a great TV criss-cross to spot on season one.  After ending season 2 last night, I am definitely looking forward to what comes next in the saga of how Ted Mosby got together with Robin again.

Leave a Reply

