My Adventures at Boston Ski & Snowboard Expo


Boston’s Seaport Boulevard is always buzzing with entertaining events.  From concerts to conferences, Bostonians gather around the area to see what’s happening.  The Seaport Boulevard district has become an up and coming neighborhood for a while now (with condominiums priced at $2000-$3000 a month for a 1 bedroom apartment!).  Many of the conferences happen at the Seaport World Trade Center.

The Seaport World Trade Center is located in 200 Seaport Boulevard and provides a big arena space for conference events.  People from all around the country gather here to meet with other members of the community.  Whether it is a car show or an expo on the latest technology, audiences come together to see the latest trends.  This past weekend I went into the Seaport World Trade Center to attend the Boston Ski & Snowboard Expo.

IMG_20161112_124043[1].jpg

A friend of mine informed me about the Boston Ski & Snowboard Expo and I just had to check this event out.  The Boston Ski & Snowboard Expo is an event providing ideas for travel, snag special deals on passes, find new equipment, and making new friends that like to ski or snowboard as well.  All ski/snowboard enthusiasts gathered together to learn about the hottest trends in their favorite sport.  Here were some of my favorite highlights surrounding the event:

Western Region Mountains/Resorts

I have been skiing for a while and I have only been on the mountains on the east coast.  Some of the popular ski destinations I have been to were Loon, Gunstock, Waterville Valley, Ski Bradford and Cannon.  When I arrived to the event, I knew that I would run into familiar ski destinations that I have skied at before.  What I didn’t know was that there would be ski destinations from the west coast as well.

IMG_20161112_142021[1].jpg

IMG_20161112_131250[1].jpg

Ski resort employees flew into Boston from states such as Wyoming, Idaho, Utah, Montana, Colorado, New Mexico, Alaska, and Nevada.  Some of them have never been up to Boston until this weekend.  One vendor that caught my eye was Schweitzer, a mountain resort in Idaho.  I spoke to marketing & sales director Sean to get more insight about the place.

Sean informed me that the resort was in Sandpoint, a resort 45 miles below the Canadian border.  There are over 92 ski runs in the mountain, with a majority of the trails having an intermediate difficulty setting.  Truthfully I have never been to Idaho yet, but Sean told me that it’s a beautiful state of the western region.  I thanked Sean and wandered around to the next vendor area.

On to my left was a vendor for Jackson Hole in Wyoming.  One of my uncles heads to Jackson Hole for vacation every year, so I went over to talk with the employees.  I met with Andy Calder to get more information about the place.  Jackson Hole is a popular mountain resort with 133 trails to ski on.  It’s an incredible resort that also offers shops, restaurants, lodging, spas, and a booming nightlife.  This was one mountain that I will definitely have to check out if I am ever in Wyoming anytime soon!

Right nearby was a vendor for Crested Butte, a former coal mining town in Colorado.  Crested Butte transformed from being a coal mining town to becoming “the last great Colorado ski town”.  I talked with Heather Roberts, a leisure group sales manager, to gain more insight about skiing in Crested Butte.  Heather told me that Colorado is a beautiful state for skiing and Crested Butte doesn’t disappoint.  With snow falling almost every day, Crested Butte is one of many ski resorts in Colorado that opens for a longer season.  There are over 121 trails to ski on at Crested Butte and multiple restaurants to grab some grub after a long day of skiing.  After a nice talk with Heather about Colorado skiing, I headed off to another vendor for some more fun.

IMG_20161112_140251[1].jpg

Across from Crested Butte was a vendor for Telluride.  Telluride was another ski resort town in Colorado.  There were a rack of books about Telluride and I got to witness one of the most beautiful landscapes ever.  I couldn’t believe my eyes…it was row of colorful boxed buildings lined up to the mountain with a golden orange sunset blanketing the town.  This was truly a magnificent picture to look at.  It was then that I understood why people called it ‘Colorful Colorado’.  Looking at that picture in Boston made me tear up inside, wanting to grab my suitcase and head west to the Rocky Mountains.

About a few blocks away, I noticed this HUGE ski map with the sign ‘Big Sky Montana’ on top.  I just had to check out what was going on there.  It was there that I spoke to Dylan Hall, a national sales manager for Big Sky Resort.

IMG_20161112_143647[1].jpg

IMG_20161112_144828[1].jpg

Dylan was talking about how Big Sky is the largest ski resort in America, with 5,800 acres of land dedicated to skiing. The huge map showcased all of the trail difficulties in the area.  Montana is one of many states I have not traveled to yet, but Dylan told me that it’s definitely worth the trip!  I thanked Dylan for his enthusiasm and headed off to another area.

Nearby was this huge snow-truck that was a part of Whisper Ridge BackCountry Resort.  Whisper Ridge is located in Utah, nestled deep in the Wasatch Mountains.  I spoke with Cort Lockwood, one of the owners/cat drivers of Whisper Ridge.  He informed me that Whisper Ridge is one of the best ski resorts in Utah.  Other than skiing, Whisper Ridge also offered Yurt lodgings for customers wanting to stay in Yurts.  Utah is definitely a state I need to check out in the future.

Mascots

img_20161112_1258571

While wandering around the exhibit, I noticed some animal mascots roaming around to greet customers.  I made it my task to snap selfies with all of the mascots.  My first selfie was with a moose mascot.  Later I found out that the moose represented Sugarloaf Mountain Resort in Carrabassett Valley, Maine.  This moose, known as Amos, wore an arctic blue shirt and had a wide smile to keep customers happy.  Amos was not shy about getting into the selfie with me!

img_20161112_1421321

Another cool mascot that I took a selfie with was a penguin that I ran into.  Penguins were my favorite animal as a kid, so I HAD to snap a selfie with this penguin!  It was a typical black & white penguin that wore a red scarf while wandering around the building.  Kudos to the awesome penguin roaming around!

img_20161112_1500281

One last mascot I ran into was another moose.  This moose represented Waterville Valley resort in Waterville Valley, NH.  The moose wore a sky-blue T-shirt that said ‘LOVE’ on the front.  I can safely say that this moose LOVED skiing in NH!

Ski/Snowboard Equipment

IMG_20161112_133047[1].jpg

Other than ski resorts, a lot of the vendors provided special ski/snowboard equipment for riders.  Well-known snowboard company Burton had a vendor showcasing their snowboard equipment.  I spoke with Melissa Pennington about how I knew Burton through studying at Champlain College in Burlington, VT.  Burton’s headquarters was in Burlington, but I never got to enter their office while in college.  There were some decorative boards to look and Burton provided some great equipment for snowboarding.

Around the corner I spotted a camera company showing snowboard movies on TV.  It was there that I spoke with chief financial officer Matt Andon of Proshot.  Proshot provides special cases for the iPhone 6/6s/7 that are compatible with GoPro.  These housings are waterproof, durable, and shockproof for capturing your moment anywhere.  It was a unique idea that worked well with the GoPro Mounts.

IMG_20161112_132706[1].jpg

There were two big blocks of ice in another vendor.  I walked over to the ice blocks to see that it was part of Icebug, a footwear company specializing in shoes that work well with ice/snow.  These shoes stick to the ice and don’t cause you to slip so easily when taking walks on snowy climates.  It was definitely something I could use when walking through icy climates!

IMG_20161112_142423[1].jpg

In another vendor where rustic photos of ski destinations.  What really got me interested were the pictures depicting areas of Boston.  I compliment artist Rusty of Rusty & Ingrid Creative Company on his amazing artwork.  Rusty did a great job of utilizing Boston landmarks (John Hancock Building) as his subject with his rustic paintings.  These paintings were just incredible to look at!

img_20161112_1457441

IMG_20161112_145729[1].jpg

Colorado is also home to many companies that provide ski/snowboard equipment.  One company was Grass Sticks, a ski equipment company in Steamboat Springs.  Grass Sticks makes their ski poles out of bamboo because the material lasts well when skiing.  I spoke with Andrew about how cool the ski poles looked and he told me how good bamboo worked when constructing the poles.

Technology shapes the way we ski in the 21st century.  One interesting app that revolves around ski/snowboarding was Snoww.  Snoww is a social ski tracking app that helps track your skiing experience.  From the mountains you ski to what trails you run through, Snoww works to keep your ski/snowboard life organized.  This app also lets you connect with other skiiers/snowboarders to discuss what mountains you have been on.  It was an app that featured a combination of Fitbit, Facebook, and Tinder.  This is truly a unique app for the ski/snowboard bums that want to share their experience with their friends.

One thought on “My Adventures at Boston Ski & Snowboard Expo

  1. John carey

    Jon,
    Nice job on the ski expo. Love reading you’re stuff.
    Although I am about to read smoke flowers while you;re there,LOL
    Dad:)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

