St. Patrick’s Day


Happy St. Patrick’s Day everyone!  St. Patrick’s Day is the time to celebrate your Irish heritage with some pals, couple of brews, and good tunes to belch out at the pubs.  As a fellow Irishman, I enjoy taking the time to be proud of being an Irish lad.  There’s only two kinds of people on this day: those who are Irish and those who pretend to be Irish just to celebrate the holidays.

Four_Leaf_Clover_03

With the luck of the Irish spread around the world, people certainly have interesting notions about Irish people.  Here are some common perceptions that people have about Irish men and women:

Alcohol –  Irish people drink LOTS of alcohol, to the point where they drink any time of the day.  I do enjoy an occasional beer every once in a while, but not to the extent that I’m guzzling down beers within an hour.  Rather than downing multiple beers at a time, I have a passion for tasting craft beers created from microbreweries.

guiness1

Welcoming & Friendly –  Irish folks are welcoming and friendly all around.  People in Ireland will welcome you into their home, even making food for you when you come inside.  I am definitely a warm and friendly person to people I meet every day.  While I am not yet open to inviting random people in for food, I certainly don’t mind the occasional chit-chat with strangers!  On a similar note, us Irish folks enjoy conversing for a long while with friends/family.

leprechraun-clipartpal-com.png

Swearing –  I don’t know who the fuck initiated this crazy bullshit idea, but Irish do enjoy swearing on a daily basis.  Earlier I would use random swears around my closest friends, but my vocabulary has definitely cleaned up since I matured.  There are random times when I’ll mutter curses when I mess up.  For example:

“I forgot the paperwork for my assignment.  Shit!  Damn it!”

Potatoes – Potatoes are the most popular food item in Irish households. Baked potato, mashed potatoes, potato skins, you name it!  I love baked potatoes smothered with sour cream and chives for a side dish.  My absolute favorite potato dish would be the Uno Pizza Skins.  Uno’s Pizza skins consist of a pizza filled with potatoes, cheddar cheese, bacon, and green onions inside.

233

Procrastination – My father would always tell me to “go with the flow” in terms of how plans work out.  Irish people are huge procrastinators when completing their work.  I can say that this notion holds true for me.  From grammar school to college, I’ve procrastinated from doing my work just to hang out with my friends.  Time should be spent having fun, not working all day!

Weather – Whether it is sunny or snowing outside, Irish people have a tendency to complain about the weather each day.  They complain about it being too hot, too cold, snowing, rain, and other absurdities about the weather.  I never complain when it is sunny outside with not a cloud in the sky (which is why California must be calling my name!).  If it is anything besides that, I start getting annoyed at how lousy it looks outside.  It is important to me that the weather is beautiful out or I may turn into an Irish grump for a bit.

Leave a Reply

